Start

Homepage in english

Página web en español

Rezensionen

Veranstaltungen

Impressum & Kontakt

Homepage
Zwischenzeit e.V.







Right to land and seed

Bangladesh: Food sovereignty in times of climate change


“Food sovereignty” is the main political demand of the landless and peasant movement in Bangladesh in times of climate change and intensifying land conflicts. The concept of food sovereignty is based on the right to grow their own food, with own seeds and in an ecologically sustainable way of farming. The peasant movement fights for a revolutionary land reform and self-determined food production, in order to improve and guarantee the local and national food supply. One strategy to strengthen the demand for food sovereignty is the occupation of land by groups of small farmers. According to the law, landless farmers have a right to land which often isn't enforced due to corruption and unequal power relations.

The capitalization of the agricultural sector is a threat for the local markets and self-sustained food production. Since the so called “green revolution” in the 1960s, there is a growing influence of international seed- and chemical-companies on the agricultural market in Bangladesh. The dependency on fertilizers, pesticides and modified seeds along with the infrastructural adjustments made by the state of Bangladesh and the World Bank have significantly changed the living conditions of small farmers. Higher production costs as well as lower productivity and fertility of the soil is the reason why many peasants end up in dept.

Around three fourths of those engaged in the farming sector are landless workers. Many would have the right to receive land through the “Kash land”-legislation. But corruption of local politicians and administration are immediate and structural obstacles that prevent landless workers from obtaining land-titles of state-owned or unused land.

Bangladesh is one of the most vulnerable countries to climate change in the world. The rise of sea level causes loss of agricultural land. Cyclones and salinization are a threat for the whole farming sector. Nevertheless, the government sticks to the concept of „food security“, relying on transnational agro-companies for food supply on the one hand and on the other on export of agricultural products to markets in Asia and abroad. This results in monocultures and ecological destruction. The vast areas of fish- and shrimp-farming in the southwestern part of the country is only one example.


FILMTRAILER



The documentation team participated in the “South-Asian Caravan for climate justice, food sovereignty and gender” which went through Bangladesh from North to South. Later on it conducted interviews and investigated issues such as the impact of climate change, the economic situation of peasants, the “green revolution”, the difference between “food sovereignty” and “food security”, the processes of land-grabbing and conflicts around land and the strategies, resistance and alternatives created by the landless movement in Bangladesh. The documentary includes voices of peasants, landless workers, activists of various South Asian grassroot movements, NGOs, politicians and scientists of the field.


HD, 84 Minutes, Bangladesh/Germany 3/2014

Idea & concept: Jürgen Kraus, Heiko Thiele
Camera & film editing: Heiko Thiele
Production: Zwischenzeit e.V.

DVD: 9,- Euro plus mailing expenses (Germ.: 1,50 Euro / International: 3,50 Euro)
2,- Euro of each film will be donated to the landless-movement in Bangladesh.


=> Order and contact: film(at)zwischenzeit-muenster.de



Now for free: documentation is online!

Start

Homepage in english

Página web en español

Rezensionen

Veranstaltungen

Impressum & Kontakt

Homepage
Zwischenzeit e.V.







Über den Tellerrand

Bangladesch: Ernährungssouveränität in Zeiten des Klimawandels


“Ernährungssouveränität” ist die zentrale Forderung der kleinbäuerlichen Bewegungen in Bangladesch. Angesichts von Klimawandel, Flächenknappheit und Landkonflikten setzen sie sich für eine gerechte Landverteilung und eine selbstbestimmte Agrarproduktion ein. Eigene Parzellen sowie kulturell und ökologisch angepasstes Saatgut sehen sie als Basis für die Nahrungsmittelversorgung. Die Bewegungen verfolgen ihre Ziele gegebenenfalls mit radikalen Mitteln: Sie besetzen und bewirtschaften Land, das ihnen laut Gesetz zusteht, aber aufgrund von Korruption zumeist nicht übertragen wird.

Der Anbau für den Eigenbedarf und die lokalen Märkte wird durch die Kapitalisierung des Agrarsektors stark gefährdet. Seit der “Grünen Revolution” in den 1960er Jahren nimmt der Einfluss von Saatgut- und Chemiekonzernen beständig zu. Die Abhängigkeit von Dünger, Pestiziden und modifizierten Samen sowie die infrastrukturellen Eingriffe durch Staat und Weltbank haben die Lebensbedingungen der Kleinbäuerinnen und -bauern verändert. Höhere Produktionskosten und sinkende Bodenfruchtbarkeit sind die Schattenseiten der gesteigerten Ernten, die viele in die Verschuldung treibt. Heute gelten drei viertel aller Bangladeschis offiziell als landlos und haben laut “Kash-Land-Gesetz” Anspruch auf eigene Parzellen. Doch Korruption in Politik und Verwaltung verhindern die Enteignung von Großgrundbesitz und die Übertragung von Staatsflächen.

Der Klimawandel trifft Bangladesch mit am stärksten. Während der Meeresspiegelanstieg die Anbauflächen verknappt, gefährden Stürme, Bodenversalzung und Dürre die kleinbäuerliche Landwirtschaft. Dennoch hält der Staat am Konzept der “Ernährungssicherheit” fest. So soll der transnationale Agrarsektor die Versorgung garantieren und die eigene Landwirtschaft den Weltmarkt beliefern. Exemplarisch steht für dieses Konzept die abgeholzte Küstenregion mit den profitablen Shrimps- und Fischbecken.


FILMTRAILER



Das Filmteam begleitete die internationale „Karawane für Ernährungssouveränität, Klimagerechtigkeit und Frauenrechte“ durch Bangladesch. In den folgenden Monaten wurden die zentralen Themen vertieft: Folgen der Erderwärmung, Einkommen und Eigentum von Kleinbäuerinnen und -bauern, die “Grüne Revolution”, Unterschiede zwischen den Konzepten “Ernährungssouveränität” und “Ernährungssicherheit”, “Land Grabbing” und Landkonflikte sowie Strategien und Kämpfe der Landlosen-Bewegung. Im Film kommen Kleinbäuerinnen und -bauern, landlose Tagelöhner_innen, Aktivist_innen verschiedener südasiatischer Bewegungen sowie Mitarbeiter_innen von NGOs, Politiker_innen und Wissenschaftler_innen zu Wort.


HD, 84 Minuten, Bangladesch/Deutschland 10/2013

Idee & Konzept: Jürgen Kraus, Heiko Thiele
Kamera & Schnitt: Heiko Thiele
Produktion: Zwischenzeit e.V.

„Über den Tellerrand“ wurde auf dem ´Green me Filmfestival´ 2015
in Berlin für den “Best Food Film“ nominiert.



DVD: 12,- Euro; Blu-Ray: 15,- Euro
plus Versandkosten (D: 1,50 Euro / International: 3,50 Euro)

Von jedem Film gehen 2,- Euro an die Landlosen-Bewegung in Bangladesch.

=> Bestellungen an: film[at]zwischenzeit-muenster.de


Das Team führt gerne Veranstaltungen mit dem Film durch.